Saturday, February 26, 2011

Day 55 ~ Photo Challenge

Thursday February 24, 2011

One of the Globes from my daughters collection....

and now take a closer look at what it says...

What did you learn this continent as?

The Union of Soviet Socialist Republics was formally formed on 30 December 1924 with the adoption of a federal treaty and constitution, and survived until 31 December 1991. Following the forcible incorporation of the Baltic states in 1940, it contained fifteen constituent republics: Armenia, Azerbaijan, Byelorussia, Estonia, Georgia, Kazakhstan, Kirgizia, Latvia, Lithuania, Moldavia, the Russian Socialist Federation, Tajikistan, Turkmenistan, Ukraine, and Uzbekistan. It was the largest country in the world in area, with a population of 293 million in 1991, composed of a multitude of ethnic groups, languages, and religions.

Read more:

Neither a wise man nor a brave man lies down on the tracks of history 
to wait for the train of the future to run over him. 
 ~Dwight D. Eisenhower

No comments:

Post a Comment